Day 7 – Cheese.. Cake? Cake, with cheese?!

If you don’t understand the title of this blog, go to YouTube right now and search ‘Peter Kay Cheesecake’ and watch it, if you don’t laugh or even crack a smile then you’re more cold hearted than me!

Ever since I was little, I remember helping my Nana cook in her kitchen. I specifically remember helping her make apple crumble and bread and butter pudding, which are two deserts I’m not a fan of but making them with her felt so lovely and this is what I think created my love for baking.

Since then, my Dad has been no stranger to the kitchen in regard to baking. He bakes all sorts from bread to scones to jams and cake! They all taste better than anything I can think of and the smell of his cooking is enough to make me want to dive right in. His passion for this and dedication to trying new and complex ideas in the kitchen is another thing that pushes me to bake more and become a better cook.

The final thing that makes me enjoy baking and cooking so much is the look on peoples faces’ when they first bite into something I have made. Minus a few experimental dishes, the rest have greeted me with ‘mmm’ and ‘ahhhh’ and a genuine smile which makes me feel so incredible about myself, and seeing a clear plate is the biggest compliment in the world.

Anyway, I thought I would share the recipe I used to make my Cheesecake that I made this weekend (it’s not the best for those on a diet, however it’s possibly the tastiest cheat dessert ever!) for everyone to make themselves. It’s super easy and so yummy.

Processed with VSCO with e5 preset

Oreo Cheesecake made by Me.

What you will need:

To make the base, you will need 300g of Oreos and 140g of unsalted butter (melted and then left to cool slightly).

To make the cheesecake mix, you will need 500g mascarpone, 85g icing sugar, 300ml double cream, 1tsp of vanilla and a pack of Oreos crushed into pieces.

To decorate, I crushed up some more Oreos and placed mini Oreos around the edge however you can decorate it however you please!

Here’s the fun bit…

To make the Oreo base you need to…

  • Melt the 140g of butter, you can use a saucepan or do it in the microwave whatever you wish to do. Whilst that’s cooling slightly, you need to crush the Oreo’s into a fine crumb – you can use a food processor however I smacked them with a rolling pin, it’s great for anger management haha.
  • Then you need to add the melted butter to the crushed Oreos and mix them together until they’re well combined. Pour this buttery Oreo mixture into a dish and press down until firm using the back of a spoon to make it look smooth.
  • Pop it in the fridge to let it set!

To make your cheesecake mix you need too…

  • Beat together the cream cheese with the icing sugar (sift the sugar) in a bowl until it’s soft.
  • In a separate bowl whisk together the cream and vanilla until soft peaks form (this takes time by hand, however if you have an electric whisk then it shouldn’t take long).
  • Fold the cream and vanilla mix into the cream cheese mix.
  • If you haven’t already, crush up another packet of Oreos – this can be a bit chunkier and in slightly bigger pieces than before.
  • Fold these crushed Oreos into the mix, and voila!

Finally, the end result… 

  • Spoon over the cheesecake mix onto the Oreo base and smooth it all over with a spatula or a spoon.
  • I then added my toppings, so I crushed more Oreos (I know, lots of crushed biscuit) and then sprinkled that into the middle and then placed the mini Oreos around the edge! They’re almost too cute to eat.
  • Cover the cake (I forgot to cover mine…) and leave it to chill for about 5/6 hours, or ideally leave it overnight.

Honestly, it took me less than an hour to make and it’s SO creamy and rich with Oreo so it’s an absolute dream. I can’t wait to take it into work tomorrow for everyone (besides Caitlin and myself) to demolish!

Let me know if you give it a go, I’d love to see if you do make it!

Lulabelle, XO.

One thought on “Day 7 – Cheese.. Cake? Cake, with cheese?!

Leave a Reply

